National Poetry Month Featured Book 7: Moon, Have You Met My Mother? by Karla Kuskin

There’s something in Karla Kuskin’s poems that reverts me to my own early childhood. It’s not a something I can succinctly explain, but each time I pick up one of her books..and Moon is a right hefty one…I feel it there and I feel richer for it. Maybe it’s the mischievous music in the lines. Or the way each syl-la-ble shrugs off the tug of word, and word resists the pull of sentence, yet all coheres… 

2 thoughts on “National Poetry Month Featured Book 7: Moon, Have You Met My Mother? by Karla Kuskin

  1. Dear Steven:
    I climbed 2 flights to see why indeed I loved Carla’s book so much and rediscovered the charming squirmy worms of Sergio and the wonderful rhymes that soothe the wildest child. Last night the one year old grandson and 3 year old granddaughter were wild and the reading in the lap rescued all of us from the pandemonium. If time affords, check out the photos:
    http://thevibrantchanneledcreator.wordpress.com/2012/04/09/then-and-now/
    Jeanne Poland

  2. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Poetry Resources Fun Part 3: « The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

